SSEW Executive Board Meeting

Morning Session

9:30-9:35 Introductions | Co-Director of the SSEW Initiative, Laura Schmidt, PhD, UCSF

9:35-9:55 "UC Healthy Campus Network" | Associate Vice Provost Wendy Slusser, MD, UCLA

9:55-10:05 "Making UCSF the Healthiest Place to Work" | Director of Wellbeing, Leeane Jensen, MPH, UCSF

10:05-10:15 "How Can Scientific Research Contribute to Wellness Initiatives?"  | Co-Director of the SSEW Initiative, Laura Schmidt, PhD, UCSF

10:15-10:50 "SSEW What?: Round 1 Pilot Study Updates" | Laura Schmidt, PhD Nicholas DiPatrizio, PhD | Suneil Koliwad, MD, PhD | Kimber Stanhope, PhD, RD | Peter Turnbaugh, PhD | Janet Wojcicki, PhD, MPH

10:50-11:00 Break

Research Speed Networking

11:00-12:00 Research Development Office Facilitated Speed Networking | Gretchen Kiser, PhD & Page Sorensen, MA, UCSF Research Development Office

12:00-12:30 Lunch and Social Reception

SSEW Think Tank/Breakout sessions

12:30-1:10 Breakout Groups
The goal of the small groups is to synergize collaborations that go beyond individuals to larger ideas, team science, that can only be done together. SSEW can provide seed funding for grand ideas, that could turn into larger studies with funding from either UCOP/GFI or external grants. Cross campus collaborations are highly prioritized and funded by UCOP.  Ideas from our small groups could also be the focus of our next UCOP MCRP 5 year grant.  Each group will brainstorm about grand research projects that capitalize on collective expertise of members in the group. The range of possible ideas is broad, but centered around SSEW focus on sugar/junk food, metabolism, translational science, and/or testing a policy or intervention that affects health of UC campus members. Attendees have been assigned to 1 of 3 specialized breakout groups: 

456: Animal Research Group | Donovan Argueta, BS, UCR | Nicholas Di Patrizio, PhD, UCR | Peter Havel, PhD, UCD | Suneil Koliwad, MD, PhD, UCSF | Zoe Thompson, UCR | Peter Turnbaugh, PhD, UCSF

474: Clinical: Human Addiction and Brain Imaging | Jenna Cummings, PhD, UCD | Elissa Epel, PhD, UCSF | Annie Gupta, PhD, UCLA | Ron Kraus, MD, UCB | Kevin Laugero, PhD, UCD | Karen Lindsay, PhD, UCI | Robert Lustig, MD, UCSF | Kristine Madsen, MD, MPH, UCB | Ashley Mason, PhD, UCSF | Dieter Meyerhof, PhD, UCSF | Aric Prather, PhD, UCSF | Candice Price, PhD, UCD | Desiree Sigala, UCD | Hoda Soltani, BS, MPH, RD, UCD | Kimber Stanhope, MS, PhD, UCD | Pathik Wadhwa, MD, UCI | Janet Wojcicki, PhD, MPH, UCSF

454: Policy: Institutions and Populations | Emilie Aguirre, LLM, JD, UCLA | Pat Crawford, DrPH, RD, UCB | David Faigman, MA, JD, UC Hastings | Cristin Kearns, DDS, MBA, UCSF | Barbara Laraia, PhD, MPH, RD, UCB | Cindy Leung, ScD, MPH, UCSF | Lorrene Ritchie, PhD, RD, UCB | Dean Schillinger, MD, UCSF | Laura Schmidt, PhD, UCSF

1:10-1:30 Sharing Emerging Themes from Speed Network/Breakout Sessions

1:30-1:40 Break

Executive board meeting

1:40-2:10 SSEW Faculty Meeting Themes for next years symposium and host campus | Feedback on 2 Day SSEW format | Opportunities training fellows: Hosting interns, live/streaming lectures live/streamed

2:10-2:30 Closing Comments |  Co-Director of the SSEW Initiative, Laura Schmidt, PhD, UCSF